Hi guys! I thought it was about time I told you more about myself. I am not just the owner of Le Rêve Makeup & Hair, I am not just a makeup artist and hairstylist here in Columbus, OH. I am so much more than that. I don’t just want my clients to choose our services because we are great at what we do. I want you to love us, for who we are, the personalities we have and the love we have for others. So, Hello! My full name is Hanna Marie McCord. I was born and raised in Chillicothe, OH. I have three siblings, two sisters and a brother, I’m the baby! I grew up in a large, loving family. My parents have been married for 36 years!  We have family dinners, we all attend school events, sporting events, dances, and my family pretty much does everything together.

Growing up I was not a princess, my nickname was and might still be “The Animal!” I played soccer growing up and I was maybe a little too rough on the soccer field. I liked to get dirty and push people out of my way! I had a normal childhood, playing a lot of sports and running around with my siblings and their friends. The only difference in my childhood was, when I was in elementary school, I was diagnosed with a kidney disease. At the time things were not as manageable, I was young and I was on medications, along with special eating diets to manage my condition. As I aged the condition became more manageable. I learned to adjust to my restrictions and keep myself healthy. I still manage this condition, but on a much less serious level.

As I grew up, each year I became less of the animal and more of a fashionista. I love music, singing was my life in Jr. High School and High School. I took vocal lessons for about 6 years. At one point in my life, I had the normal dream, trying out for American Idol and becoming a star! Music has always had a special place in my heart. I seriously considered being a theater major in college.

In High School, I was on the honor roll and took my schooling very seriously. No one saw my career choice coming! After High School, I attended Ohio University- Chillicothe. I was mostly undecided in my major. I was taking classes for Business and Fashion Marketing. I never really wanted to go to college after high school. Not because I was not smart enough, I was the student that was supposed to be in the medical field, something big! I just knew my dream was to open a salon and be a makeup artist. I thought if I got a business degree first, then went to cosmetology school, this would be the best option. After about two years of schooling, I left OUC and went to cosmetology school at The Ohio State School of Cosmetology. I was beyond ready to get into a salon to understand the hair and makeup world. I thought, if I work in a salon and understand how to manage one, I can open one! My experiences working in salons absolutely set me up for success in running my own on-site company.

Moments like the one above is how my dream began. I always was helping my best friends get ready for the high school dances!

I don’t just want you to know the timeline throughout my life to this point. I want you to know me. I grew up a Christian. I love church, God is the center of my life, my business, my marriage, everything! Since moving back to Ohio I have started to attend One Church in Gahanna. I LOVE it! This church has changed my life. Like I said, I love singing. I am a huge Christian music fan. I love listening to The River! I need a church that has the full musical worship. One Church has an amazing band. Every Sunday, I look forward to spending my morning with them and God. I would love to be on that stage with the band every Sunday, singing at the top of my lungs!

I am a married woman, to a loving, selfless, caring, devoted, God loving police officer. Yes, I am a police wife and I bleed the thin blue line for my man. I love the community and support I have with my fellow wives. This career has a very special bond for my husband and I am blessed to be a part of a group of men and woman who serve their community. They risk their lives for us and they put everyone before themselves.

This first picture is the first picture we ever took together. My husband and I are high school sweet hearts. We met when I was 15 years old and just started high school. The second picture is the night we got engaged. Ian asked me to marry him on top of the Empire State Building in NYC on February 4th, 2012! The next image is our wedding day, December 27th, 2013! I love winter, it is my favorite season and I might be little obsessed with all things Christmas! I had a vintage, winter, Christmas, romantic evening wedding. The last picture is a recent picture of us celebrating Ian’s graduation from his second police academy. Ian and I moved to Chicago, IL in December 2013 to purse his new employment with the Highland Park Police Department. We lived in downtown Chicago as I began to attended Makeup First School of Makeup Artistry for my certification as a professional makeup artist. We moved back to Ohio in June of 2016 when Ian accepted employment with the New Albany Police Department. We were both ready to come back and see our families more. I also believed that the move would be the best thing I could do for my business and I was right!

My husband and I have two beautiful and fluffy babies. I am a major cat lady. I loved cats from the moment I could walk. Growing up I tried to save every cat on the street. I might still do this! I hug them, squeeze them, singing to them, talk to them, buy them a lot of toys and treat them like royalty. I would run into my house, on fire, to save my babies. And yes, I have a very specific voice when I talk for my cats. My boy’s name is Porter, he has long black hair and gentle personality. My girl’s name is Lola, she has long gray hair and some may say she is overweight. I say, she is beautifully chunky and just has a lot of hair. She always needs my attention. We are best friends, she loved to sleep on my chest at night and cuddle every day.

I loved to dress up my family cats growing up. I treated my cats like babies! The third image is my childhood cat, Lizzie, this was her life with me everyday growing up! The other images are my babies now, Lola and Porter! The second picture is Porter, we rescued him in Chicago as a baby. We found Lola when she was about 8 months old. She was at Ohio University-Chillicothe, the college, my husband and I were attending at the time. We fell in love with her and saved her as well! The are best friends. They kiss and love on each other everyday!

To many people’s surprise, I love to workout. I don’t really look like I love it, my problem is chocolate. Ha-ha! I work out at least 5 days a week. The first thing I do every morning is workout. I have done every type of workout. I love high cardio, very intense workouts. I need to feel like I am about to die! Desserts are my major weakness, I am a pretty clean eater, I do not eat fast food, drink pop, etc. My diet is pretty healthy but I fall very short when it comes to sweets. I could blame this on my family. Growing up my dad loved desserts and he loved to workout. My whole family is very much into fitness. We had a weight room in our house growing up. But we all love our desserts. My sister is an incredible baker. Every family dinner or special event, desserts are the main worries in our family. Still are!

I plan my day out down to the second, I write a pro and con list for everything, I rethink every situation before I make a decision, and I talk every business idea out with my husband and my cats! I am very indecisive! I’m extremely organized and  I am a clean freak, I need everything in my house to be put in the correct spot and I feel the need to deep clean my house at least once a week. Usually twice! I hate to be late, I don’t like bacon or popcorn, I do not like to cook at all. I am a huge penny pincher, I am obsessed with the color red, my engagement ring is a ruby because I love everything red! I’m extremely competitive, it can be playing sports or a game of monopoly, I take it very seriously. I love to dance, take me to a karaoke night, a wedding or any party, I will be the crazy girl on the dance floor!

My dad and I did not have the traditional father-daughter dance 😉

So there you have it, a look inside my personality. I’m a makeup artist, hairstylist, singer, cat lady, workout nut, chocolate eating, Christian, family first, germ free, organizing, dancing business owner!